-Aurorae-

I can feel you slipping from my grasp
Like the humid Houston summers’ past
I’m here
Whether cold or hot

You and I
Go together like the sun and the sky
And for us, I will do what is right
Even if it’s wrong
You and I
Both have rendered more than we could spare
Thus, for you I will always be there
Even when I’m gone

I can feel you tremble in the dark
Rattling the center of my heart
I’m here
Even when I’m not

The ties that bind us will never fray
At my most distant, anywhere but away

You and I
Go together like the moon and the night
And for us, I will do what is right
Even if I’m wrong
You and I
Have lost more than we could ever describe
Thus, to fill all this emptiness inside
A new course, we’ll draw

Sunrise
From dawn, guided by the sun
Bathing in the ultraviolet
Basking in each other’s natural glow
As if to stare into an eclipse
To this refuge, we have come
Without walls, without ceilings
Yet, a place to call home
Sunset
Through dusk, following Polaris
You and I, a pair of stars
Set to leave behind a constellation
That can light our darkest hours
And shine long after we perish
You and I, halves of a heart
The next generation

The air that gave us breath is now the sky
Aurorae are what we have left behind.

Leave a comment